Friday, 10 June 2016

Ogun State Gov. Amosun grants pardon to 17 prisoners, commutes the death penalty of 4 others

As part of activities marking the 2016 Democracy Day and June 12 remembrance anniversaries in Ogun State, Governor Amosun has granted pardon to 17 prisoners serving various jail terms in the state. He also commuted the death sentences on four other prisoners to life imprisonment.

According to his Senior Special Assistant on Media to the Governor, Mr. Adejuwon Soyinka, Senator Amosun’s gesture was is in exercise of the Governor’s power to grant prerogative of mercy to convicts as conferred by the Constitution of the country.
Those granted amnesty by the Governor are: Wale Ibidapo Ogungbade, Emmanuel Obi, Oshilaru Abiodun, Wasiu Raimi, Abiola Samuel, Obi Moses, Abiodun Odedele, Ojo Wasiu, Lateef Bello, Dosu Sunday, Kayode Ogunsawo Sunday Agbehi, Stephen Kolade, Saburi Adebayo, Lekan Shodiya, Ogunsanya Segun and Tolani Ajayi. The four prisoners on death row whose sentences were commuted to life imprisonment are Akeem Fatai, Nnamdi Osuagu, Sunday Oloyede and Idowu Okanlawon.

No comments:

Post a Comment