Wednesday, 10 December 2014

Politics:12 APC Governors including Fashola endorse Buhari; Atiku Reaches Out To Delegates

As the APC presidential flag bearer would be decided later today, the battle has taken another dimension as 12 APC governors reached a final agreement to support Muhammadu Buhari, former military head of state, while his counterpart, Atiku Abubakar, former vice-president, is reaching out directly to the delegates.According to Vanguard,at the meeting, which took place at Adeola Odeku, Victoria Island, Lagos, the governors who agreed to support Buhari are:
Babatunde Fashola (Lagos),
Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara),
 Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe),
Kashim Shettima (Borno),

 Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa),
Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara),
Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo),
Adams Oshiomhole (Edo),
Rauf Aregbesola (Osun),
Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun),
Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto)
 Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers).

The two other governors, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (Kano) and Rochas Okorocha (Imo), are also gunning for the presidential ticket. It was also disclosed that Kwankwaso has been persuaded to step down for Buhari, which he agreed, but will still put up an appearance without putting up a fight at the convention.
Atiku, on this part, is basing his calculations on the fact that APC governors control only 14 states and their influence in the remaining 22 states is not strong.

It was understood that Atiku has zeroed in on delegates from 16 states which they consider winnable: Adamawa, Sokoto, Kebbi, Niger, Benue, Plateau, Bauchi, Jigawa, Taraba, Yobe, Delta, Abia, Ebonyi, Enugu, Ekiti and Ondo ─ as well as the FCT.

 In Atiku’s camp, the calculation is to deal directly with the delegates, even from states controlled by pro-Buhari governors. With Atiku’s heavy war chest, the APC hierarchy had become jittery about the high possibility of his victory.

No comments:

Post a Comment