Tuesday, 11 November 2014

Ogun APC Lawmakers Defect To PDP And SDP

The Ogun State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has reportedly suffered defection of some of its key lawmakers in the state’s House of Assembly.
Tribune reported on Tuesday that eight members of the state House of Assembly defected from the state ruling APC to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

The defection letter was read on the floor of the assembly by the Speaker, Hon. Suraj Adekunbi, during the first plenary session after the one month recess the lawmakers embarked on.
”I received a letter announcing the defection of Messrs Joseph Adegbesan, Salmon Adeleke, John Obafemi, Remmy Hazzan and Obafemi Olowo-Oloja to the PDP. I also got three letters this morning from Honourable Olufemi Allen-Taylor, Oludaisi Elemide and Elizabeth Anifowose announcing their defection from the All Progressive Party (APC) to the Social Democratic Party (SDP),” Adekunbi said.
It was gathered that five lawmakers defected to PDP and three others to SDP. The lawmakers officially defected from the APC and the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) on the floor of the assembl
Meanwhile, Adegbesan, Adeleke and Obafemi abandoned the PPN to join the PDP, Hazzan and Olowo-Oloja dumped the APC for the PDP.
The speaker also revealed that the state Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, would, on November 18, present the 2015 budget proposal to the state House of Assembly.

It would be recalled that on November 6, 2014, a former governor of Ogun State, Chief Olusegun Osoba, and the incumbent Deputy Governor, Segun Adesegun, also defected from the All Progressives Congress, APC, to the Social Democratic Party, SDP.

No comments:

Post a Comment